Nominate a Young Ambassador Today

The Sioux City Mayor’s Youth Commission’s accepts applications for its Young Ambassadors program in February and March.  This program honors students who have displayed good character and/or exceptional leadership inside or outside of the classroom.

All nominated students will receive a free Young Ambassadors t-shirt, gifts from area businesses, and public recognition at a ceremony the first Monday in May at 7 p.m. at City Hall.  From the nominations, 10 students will be selected to be mentored by members of the Sioux City Mayor’s Youth Commission.

To be eligible, the student must be in 4th-7th grade, enrolled in a Sioux City public or parochial school, reside in Sioux City but attend a school outside of Sioux City, or be home schooled in Sioux City.

To submit an application, please click here: Nomination deadline is March 23, 2018. Please direct questions to or


2017 Young Ambassadors

Mara Aesoph, North Middle School

Nora Chmielewski, Bryant Elementary

Cali Cooper, Sunnyside Elementary

Maclayne Dolan, Liberty Elementary

Sidney Koob, Mater Dei

McKayla Marreel, Mater Dei

Jack Petty, Sacred Heart

Noah Sewalson, East Middle School

Sadie Snyder, Morningside Elementary

Jackson Wagner, North Middle School


This program is a partnership between the City of Sioux City, Sioux City Mayor’s Youth Commission, and Siouxland CARES.